Skip to main content

John Glenn High School

Main Menu Toggle
To purchase your 2019-2020 yearbook, please go to  Use the passcode #1015610565861904.  Stay tuned for more detailed information.  Contact for more info.
Staff email: Office 365
Academics » Common Core State Standards

Common Core State Standards

Common Core State Standards

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) reflect the importance of focus, coherence, and rigor as the guiding principles for instruction and learning. California’s implementation of the CCSS demonstrates a commitment to providing a world-class education for all students that supports college and career readiness and the knowledge and skills necessary to fully participate in the 21st century global economy.

The CCSS build on California’s standards-based educational system in which curriculum, instruction, professional learning, assessment, and accountability are aligned to support student attainment of the standards. The CCSS incorporate current research and input from other education stakeholders – including other state departments of education, scholars, professional organizations, teachers and other educators, parents, and students. The CCSS are internationally benchmarked, research-based, and unequivocally rigorous.

California State Board of Education

State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Informed by the California Department of Education, Norwalk - La Mirada Unified School District has developed a Common Core State Standards implementation plan which includes 4 major phases. Full implementation of the CCSS is expected in 2014-15.

Phase I:  Awareness and Dissemination. (2012-2013) During this phase, NLMUSD provides a general introduction to the CCSS for teachers, administrators, and support staff, including the framing of the planning and organizational system to implement the CCSS. Community outreach to parents and others will begin.

Phase II: Transition. (Summer 2013 continuing into 2013-2014) During this phase, NLMUSD continues providing professional learning opportunities around the CCSS, builds resources for broadening the scope of collaboration among all stakeholder groups. Assessing ongoing needs for effective transition is also introduced during this phase.

Phase III:  Implementation - Putting Standards into Practice. (2013-2014) During this phase, NLMUSD will implement a fully aligned curriculum, instruction, and testing. It will continue to provide comprehensive and rigorous professional development for effective implementation of CCSS.

Phase IV: Transformation (2014-2015) During this phase, NLMUSD will continually refine processes for collaboration, curriculum and lesson planning, assessment development, and implementing instructional shifts. In addition, school teams continue to use a needs assessment to determine their focus for the implementation of the Common Core Standards.  

Additional Resources

ELA, ELD, SPED and Mathematics Common Core State Standards

CCSS for Special Education (SPED)